Posted by: Jo | March 13, 2015

Stay Lucky, Chip

All music is is a feeling to be shared with a beat, right? Well there were a lot of feelings for me last week. My mom was selling the Jeep. Yes. A car. But it was a car that Daddy bought. It is only a car, but it definitely had sentimental value. Unfortunately, it didn’t have a lot of actual value. When the brakes went out, that was the last straw. So she had to let it go.

I know that it was a hard decision for her. I know that she struggled with it for a while. But in the end, it is only a car. I know losing Daddy has been roughest on her. I think about him every day and there are multiple times I think to call him, but I don’t walk by his empty office. I am not constantly reminded of his absence. Sometimes I have to remind myself all over again (which sucks by the way – it’s like going through it again almost). So last week when it was time to give the Jeep away, a car that represented a slice of their life together, I was thinking about them a lot. And thinking about how lucky they were to be married for 45 years. I don’t care who you are, being married for 45 years has to be a lot of work. And I admire the people who stick with it and make it work. It seems so rewarding in the end to have love last for that long (and longer as I know her love for Daddy will never die).

The song Stay Lucky, Chip is for Mom & Dad. And I felt the need to share it with the world, to share them with the world. So, out came the iPhone Voice Memos app and there you have it – the rough recording is out there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

